top of page

The Discover Experience


 

“Why did you choose *Insert area* for your exchange?” I think this has been a constant question for most, if not all, exchange participants. The answer is usually simple— the place is nice and the project is perfect.

I guess you could say it was the same for me. I saw a lot of posts about Croatia, mostly about the seaside, and this caught my attention. Plus, the project was all about tourism and marketing. It was like the best combination ever, so I took advantage of it.

But, now, you may be wondering why did I choose Osijek? Out of all the places in Croatia, why would I choose the one farthest from the beaches and the people?

Personally, I feel like there’s something different in an area that isn’t the main tourist attraction. Usually, it’s more genuine. It’s the purest state of a country. It’s where most locals stay, and most tourists usually don’t go. By going to Osijek, I would be able to experience Croatian culture without having to be bothered by expensive souvenirs, and annoying tourist traps. I came here with the idea that my story would have a different angle, a different perspective. And, that is obviously what I got.

There are usually no tourists in the countryside. I think I may be the first South East Asian person they have ever seen. The lack of cultural diversity is alarming, but it also opened me to the idea that this place is the most authentic area I’ve ever been to.

The people are so genuine. They all have the ability to make me stop and think about what I have been doing with my life. They also have a calm aura that makes me so relaxed. Moreover, the cafe culture is booming. I don’t think I’ve ever drank so much coffee in my life. I come from a big city back in the Philippines, and there was really no time to sit down and chill. In Osijek, however, I had all the time in the world to relax and talk to my companions. The pacing might be unusual for most who love the hustle and bustle, but it’s nice to take a breather once in a while.

Tvrđa is also another thing that I like about Osijek. Aside from the fact that this fortress holds so much heritage, it also houses all the clubs. I love how this part of the city was able to incorporate modernity and history. Imagine partying on top of a fortress overlooking the river. Who wouldn’t want to do that, right?

Last, but not the least, I love how Osijek was in Slavonia and near Baranja. Being in a project that went around those two regions made me appreciate the simplicity of people’s lifestyle. I also came to recognize the full worth of these regions in ways that I would not have been able to if I were not given the opportunity in the project.

Slavonia and Baranja are regions full of culture and heritage. They house wineries and factories that help sustain the economy of the country. Moreover, they are proud of the the traditions that most people might have forgotten already. Despite them not being the go-to place in Croatia, I see that there is a potential in them being so. I witnessed many castles, lakes, as well as museums, and although they were not as jam-packed with tourists, I saw how Slavonia and Baranja can be able to compete with other attractions of Croatia. It is unfortunate that they are not given the same attention as that of the places by the seaside, but I feel like if more people know the area and witness it through a project like Discover, they will also be captivated by its charm and beauty.

Overall, Osijek (and Slavonia/ Baranja) may not seem to be the first place that pops up in your head when you think Croatia, but it still offers something truly worth appreciating. I may still catch myself asking why I’m here in the first place, I mean come on.. You do not usually see a random Filipina walking around in this part of the world, but, trust me when I say that there is so much to learn and explore here. Even at the end of my journey, this place did not cease to amaze me. I experienced things that I never imagined, and experienced situations that are a shock even for me. I have found plenty of reasons to stay and discover more, and hopefully, you find some too if ever you find yourself in this region. :)


bottom of page